Nowhere (poem)

nowhere.pngHuge thanks to Katherine and everyone at Understorey Magazine for liking my poem enough to publish it in their Home&Away issue!!

It’s my second paid publication and I still am having a hard time believing that anyone thinks my writing is good enough to publish.A very encouraging way to end a challenging year.

Nowhere

In a town where everyone
knows everyone
the girl who never connected is
an outsider.

School, recess, friends:
I do not belong here.
Family, holidays, gatherings:
I do not belong here.

My own mind, never operating right:
I do not belong here.
My own body, uncomfortable and ugly:
I do not belong here.

How do I get better
survive the day
when every place I go, every choice I make
feels wrong?

In a town where everyone
knows everyone
and everything about each other
I know surprisingly little.

People ask, Are you a small town person or a big city person?
I just assumed I was a big city person
considering the smothering town
I am escaping.

But now the city
is dizzy
and lonely
and swallowing me
whole.

I do not belong here.

14956628_1454872434541325_7419626689500877294_n.png

Published by

yourprettylife

23, female, Toronto. Mental health advocate, writer, makeup artist.

Leave a Reply

